Putting food by

It’s the time of the year for garden produce to end up in the freezer or on the canning shelf. This year for the first time in ages we had a bumper crop of cucumbers; that led to a large batch of cucumber/tomato relish now on the basement shelves. I dug out my old USDA canning books, found some great pickle recipes, and I think used the one I first used for relish back in the 70’s. Basil has done well this year (as it has for the past several years) and I’ve begun freezing a simple pesto base for winter treats. It’s easy to do in the food processor and takes no time at all. Then in the winter you just thaw and add cheese and butter and what a wonderful midwinter treat.
We had a bumper crop of tomatoes this year (as opposed to last year when late blight took almost everyone’s tomatoes). I’ve been making a simple fresh sauce from tomatoes, garlic, olive oil and basil (and a hot pepper); it’s great for spaghetti, pizza, or, when you have enough, for the freezer. I’ve even tried freezing fresh, skinned tomatoes; they work really well as an additive to sauces made with canned tomatoes.
And the tomatoes and peppers are great inspiration for a pastel painting!
Now I have to find someone who is throwing away the rind from a watermelon. I would love to make a batch of watermelon pickles!
2 thoughts on “Putting food by

  1. Hey Gram! Thank you for the nice comment on my site. It is nice to see what you've been up to lately – it looks like your garden did very well this year!
    I actually have a question for you – I think I would like to learn how to spin wool into yarn. Do you know how much Priscilla's spinning wheels cost? Or, do you know anywhere that sells good quality spinning wheels for a reasonable price? And one more question! If I were to buy a wheel, do you think you could help me learn how to spin?
    Love you!
    Gen

  2. I'll send you an email about spinning wheels, Gen. It's not hard to learn how to spin; it takes a bit of practice and coordination, but it's fun to do, particularly if you have a good supply of raw wool (which where you live should be fairly easy to find).

Leave a Reply

