Drop Spindle Workshop at the Woods Hole Museum

I’ve been spinning for years, but I’ve never used a drop spindle.  So when the historical museum offered a workshop in using the drop spindle I signed up.  About 8 people showed up.  The gal who ran the workshop supplied spindles constructed from old CD’s to those who didn’t have a spindle.  My husband made me two spindles from wood he had lying around in his workshop; they are beautiful!  I may decorate them with paintings of sheep, but for now I’m just practicing with them. The larger spindle worked more easily; it kept whirling for a longer period of time and I was eventually able to start drafting with a little speed.  I think the drop spindle might be useful for spinning singles for fine knitting.  But, I really appreciate the easy of spinning with my wheel now!!!

Drop Spindles

Spindles made by my husband

 

Here’s a link to a website called “Spinning Daily” where you can download a free ebook with directions on how to spin with a drop spindle.  The first article even shows you how to construct a spindle from old CD’s.

Hand-Spindle

http://www.spinningdaily.com/Drop-Spindle-Spinning/

I’ve started spinning a gray fleece that I bought over a year ago.  It will make a nice fair isle sweater paired with some dark blue fleece that I’ve just finished spinning.

Spinning Gray Fleece DSCN0018

One thought on “Drop Spindle Workshop at the Woods Hole Museum

Leave a Reply

