I’ll be spinning in my sleep

What an embarrassment of riches!  I’ve been given three more pounds of wool roving, beautiful stuff all ready to spin, by the art center.  The tan roving I will spin up directly into yarn.  The white wool and the white mohair I may experiment with some dyeing of the roving.  I haven’t done any wool dyeing in a number of years; one of my friends last night told me about a mushroom dyeing workshop that’s coming up nearby.  That might be fun to attend.  And I’ve always wanted to try ‘painting’ some roving; I ordered a book about that from the library system and will think of trying that.

Tan Wool

White Mohair

Mohair roving

White Wool

If that weren’t enough, an old friend who raises llamas (and saw that I was spinning alpaca) offered me some llama fiber from her spring shearing.  She sent an email yesterday saying it is on its way.  I can’t wait to see it and try spinning it.  She sent me photos of ‘Coco’ and ‘Debbie’, the llamas the fiber will be from.  As I said at the beginning of this post, what an embarrassment of riches!

Coco

Coco

Debbie the llama

Debbie

 

 

 

 

 

 

UPDATE:  Here’s the beautiful fiber from Coco and Debbie. I can’t wait to get started spinning!

Coco's Red-Brown and Debbie's Grey Fleece

Coco’s Red-Brown and Debbie’s Grey Fleece

 

