Ancient Projects

Years ago, and I do mean years, I started a sweater from Alice Starmore’s “Book of Fair Isle Knitting”.  The pattern was named the “Waterlily Jacket” and not only did I love the blue and white patterns, but it reminded me of one of my favorite painters, Monet, and his wonderful waterlily paintings.  At the time I bought  many colors of Reynold’s Mohair Classic yarn and started knitting.  Now, you must realize, that this was long ago and it was my first experience with pattern knitting.  I got about 2/3’s of the way up the body of the sweater (knitted in the round with a steek–first time for that for me, too), and the knitting was so tedious for me at that time that I quit and just put it away.  I went back to it several years later and finished the rest of the body, but using some of my own patterns.  But then I was at the point where I had to cut the steeks for the front and the arms; I’d never done that, and again I put the project aside with all the yarn

Completed body of the Jacket

Completed body of the Jacket

This year I picked the project up and decided that I now was ready to sew and cut those steeks, and finish the arms and the borders. I sewed with my machine and cut the front and the armhole openings.  I sewed the shoulder seams and picked up stitches for the arms.  I have one arm finished now (knitting from the shoulder down) and am about halfway finished with the second arm.  I have to decide how I will finish the borders and the neck; something plain, I think, maybe in the dark blue color.  I welcome suggestions at this point!  The original pattern had color patterns throughout the sweater, but I have made the sleeves mostly plain and I like the effect of the plain versus the complicated patterning of the body of the jacket.  It is very satisfying to go back and finally finish this long abandoned project.  I’m smiling as I write this!

Jacket Nearing Completion

Jacket Nearing Completion

2 thoughts on “Ancient Projects

  1. Hi Gram!

    It has been a while since you’ve posted about this sweater and your other projects. What have you been up to lately? 🙂

    Love,
    Gen

  2. Hi Gen, It indeed had been way too long since I posted about what I’ve been doing. See my latest post for what I’ve been up to. The sweater still needs some sewing and some borders; I guess it’s just a hard project to finish since I made so many changes to the pattern.
    Love, Gram

Leave a Reply

