It may be spring, but the weather hasn’t heard about it!

Still a foot of snow on the ground and temperatures more typical of February than late March.  I guess the positive side is that I’m happily inside working on various projects.  I’m catching up on a lot of spinning.  I have a huge stash of wool and am finally making some inroads into it.  I have enough spun now to think about making a couple of sweaters.  It’s really satisfying to be using some of this wool that has been sitting around for far too long.

Spun grey silk-merino

Grey silk-merino mix (1.5 pounds)

Spun Sage Wool

Sage Green Merino (1 pound)

Maroon merino

Maroon merino (.5 pounds)

 

Maroon merino singles on wheel

Maroon merino singles on the wheel

 

I’ve also been doing quite a bit of painting, local scenes from here on Cape Cod as well as some scenes from northern VT.  I can’t wait for some sunny warm weather so I can get outside to paint, but until then the regular practice is very good for my painting technique.  I have two paintings ready to go into the “Contrasts” show at the Art Center tomorrow and two more ready for the following show which has the theme “Flora and Fauna”.

Into the Cedar Swamp

Into the Cedar Swamp Oil on Board 12×16

 

Murkwood Marsh

Murkwood Marsh Oil on Board 16×20

 

Sunset view of Woods Hole

Sunset view of Woods Hole Oil on Board 12×16

 

View of Eel Pond

View of Eel Pond Oil on Board 18×24

 

Woods Hole Street Painting

Captain Kidd Oil on Board 16×20

 

Cape Turkey painting

Cape Cod Turkey Oil on Board 12×16

 

Race Point underpainting

Underpainting for a painting of Race Point Light. I just started this one today.

 

And of course, I’m playing my cello almost every day.  Learning Popper etudes (I’m working on #16) stretches me, but I learn something new every day I work on them.  I have the Allemande and the Bourees from the 3rd suite memorized and am starting to feel more comfortable playing them from memory.  Bach is NOT easy to memorize, his music is so complex.  I’m starting to learn Faure’s Elegy; what a lovely beautiful piece of music.  It’s difficult, but well worth the effort.

Now, let’s see that snow melt and some greenery in the yard.  I’m ready for spring!!!

Leave a Reply

