Spinning the Stash + my sewing machine is repaired

Like everyone else I accumulate! Fabric, knitting yarn, and most particularly fiber for spinning.  I see some and I buy it for it’s beautiful color or its wonderful feel and then I end up with a cedar chest filled to the brim.  This spring I decided to do something about that; my goal was to catch up on all the purchased top and roving that I’ve got in ‘stock’.  I knew if I didn’t get it spun into yarn there was little hope of using it.  I’ve almost caught up with the colored top and roving and am now spinning a white fleece that I bought a few years ago.  Photos are below of some of the wool, but there are a few more that I’ve not taken photos of.  Now I just have to get busy and plan some knitting projects.  What a good feeling!

I found a Viking dealer in Franklin, MA that does factory service and has a good repair person.  They took my Viking machine and said if they could find the parts they would try to repair it.  I was hoping and hoping they could do it, and a couple of weeks ago I got a call that they’d been successful.  We drove to pick it up and it’s working beautifully.  I’m beaming!  This sewing machine has made many many things for me over the years (even down jackets and a Frostline tent–remember those?); it’s great to think that I can start sewing again!!!

I guess I have my work cut out for me now; no excuse to not knit and sew up a storm!!!

20150322-_DSC0614 20150322-_DSC0618 20150322-_DSC0619 20150331-_DSC0703 20150409-_DSC0786

 

Leave a Reply

